Kona World Championships 2014 Review

Saturday was the 2014 Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii. The race was ever changing and predictions quickly changed as the race picked up speed. The race witnessed the notoriously tough conditions that this Ironman in Kona is so well known for. The athletes fought a strong current in the water, which broke up packs and favoured the stronger swimmers. They tackled strong winds, high humidity and temperatures throughout the day while they biked through the volcanic backdrop and ran towards home.

Far from these conditions, a number of hotel guests, resident and visiting athletes sat in the comfort of Sands Beach Resort, to follow the race with anticipation and cheer on the athletes. A snack buffet and drinks were provided, along with a great atmosphere which lasted late into the evening.

Sebastian Kienle of Germany, started onto the marathon course with minutes in hand over second place. Ben Hoffman of the USA was deemed the ‘surprise’ result of the day finishing runner up. Jan Frodeno also from Germany was bidding to become the first athlete to have an Olympic and Kona title to his name, but today it was not meant to be.

Mirinda Carfrae came from behind to take victory, after by her standards having a less than desirable race up until the run. She chased hard, and eventually took the lead from 27 year old Daniela Ryf who had led for the majority of the race. Great Britain’s Rachel Joyce came in 3rd.

Mens Pro Pro Podium

Sebastian Kienle (GER)

Ben Hoffman (EE.UU.)

Jan Frodeno (GER)

Womens Pro Podium

Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)

Daniela Ryf (SWI)

Rachel Joyce (GBR)


Sands Beach Active had nine ambassadors including those from Professional Triathlon Team UPLACE-BMC. The athletes had a great set of results, especially considering the conditions and what has been a very busy season for all of them, with 19 victories and 42 podiums racked up between the UPLACE-BMC athletes already!

Bart Aernouts 9th

Liz Blatchford 10th

Romain Guillaume 10th

Corinne Abraham 11th

Ronnie Schildknech 12th

Ivan Rana 17th

Sofie Goos 42nd

Axel Zeebroek DNF

Victor Del Corral DNF