Lanzarote International Marathon 2013

Yesterday on the 8th October the successful Lanzarote International Marathon took place with eleven hundred participants.

Runners enjoyed warm weather and clear skies running amongst the most stunning scenery. About 1000 runners finished the race.

The full and half distance marathon runs started at 9am from the Cactus Gardens. The 10km run started at Sands Beach Resort in Costa Teguise at 10am. The typical Canarian weather did not disappoint on race day and the amazing scenery and sea views meant the miles slipped by quickly for the runners.

Matthias Leonhardt won the marathon in two hours, thirty seven minutes and one second. The winner for the women was Irish runner Nollaigh O’Neill in two hours, thirty seven minutes and one second. She took the title from last year’s winner Bella Bayliss.

Local Lanzarote runner and Spanish Olympic runner José Carlos Hernández won the half marathon in a time of one hour, nine minutes and thirty five seconds. The women’s champion was Tamara Sanfabio from Madrid who crossed the finishing line in one hour, 21 minutes and 25 seconds followed by Bella Bayliss in 2nd place.

The 10km run was won by Francisco Jose Garcia Viñoly in 28 minutes and 52 seconds and Joanna Marta Drelicharz in 33 minutes and 16 seconds.

As usual the Lanzarote International Marathon supports the development of sport for all, and the wheelchair races were well received.

Here you can see the podium and times of each category:


Male Podium:

1- Matthias Leonhardt – 02:37:01

2- Rait Ratasepp – 02:38:50

3- Tom de Smet – 02:39:41

Female Podium:

1 – Nollaigh O’Neill – 02:52:58

2- Heini Papinsaari – 03:19:27

3- Rosa Fontes Gutiérrez – 03:30:07

Half Marathon:

Male Podium:

1- José Carlos Hernández – 01:09:35

2- Maciek Miereczko – 01:13:09

3- Jamo Maimonen – 01:14:33

Female Podium:

1- Tamara Sanfibio Rodríguez – 01:21:25

2- Bella Bayliss – 01:25:39

3- Paula Nurmi – 01:29:44

10 KM:

Male Podium:

1- Francisco José Garcia Viñoly – 00:28:52

2- Javier García Gómez – 00:28:54

3- Colin Norris – 00:28:56

Female Podium:

1- Joanna Marta Drelicharz – 00:33:16

2- Summer Leigh Ibrahim – 00:34:31

3- Piia Doyle – 00:35:22